this place is home

Home lives inside the heart
and my heart dwells here
on the shores of water borrowed from the other side of the mountain
on land that is hard and forgotten.

My heart mingles with wild plants that are maligned by most–
I find them miracles–
tenacious plants that chose this place and persist.
They have not forgotten the Earth.
Let us not forget to thank them, those maligned plants,
for they have a wisdom of their own.

I chose this place too
and, like them, I’ll persist.
I have not forgotten the earth.
I love all her weeds and thank them.
I seek their wisdom,
for mine has been forgotten.

And just like them, one day I will move on,
and I will have awakened an ancient wisdom that belongs to all beings.
I will leave behind love,
a love that persists.

My heart dwells here,
this place is home.

Leave a comment