mothers and garrison

Everybody has a mother.  That is one of those obvious yet miraculous truths that overwhelmed me as a new mother.  Still strikes me every now and then.  Everybody has a father, too.  And that is equally miraculous.  I am reticent to celebrate only one half of parenthood, one part of family.  I enjoy the wholeness of family so much.  But yes, mothers are definitely worth celebrating!

We were blessed to spend this Mother’s day with Dave’s mom, who is celebrating double: birthday and Mother’s day all wrapped into one.  It’s been a busy couple of weeks.  She’s had the chance to relive her past–parenting two boys.  It took some getting used to, but I think it has been a joy for her.  She has the patience of a saint. The boys are going to wonder what hit them when she departs for home and they are left with their frenetic mom. I value the different experiences they have with all of their other mothers–grandmas, omis, grams, aunts, friends. Good stuff, being loved by and loving many!

On a completely different note, I have a love affair with Garrison Keillor.  Maybe it’s all about my everlasting loyalty to all things Minnesotan.  Or maybe it’s his voice.  Or the calmness he embodies.  Whatever it is, my love for this man has been reincarnated as a new ritual of a daily listen to The Writer’s Almanac.  It is a wonder what humans can do with words.  Check it out.   A few good thoughts about this day from today’s reading:

Anna Jarvis, the person behind the official establishment of Mother’s Day, became increasingly concerned over the commercialization of Mother’s Day and called greeting cards “a poor excuse for the letter you are too lazy to write.”   Nice idea.  A letter every Mother’s Day.  

In The Importance of Being Earnest, Oscar Wilde wrote: “All women become like their mothers. That is their tragedy. No man does. That’s his.”  I do recognize more and more of my own mother in my speech and interactions with others.  Though, I do not consider this a tragedy, but a blessing!  Perhaps I will even be chasing birds all over the country in another 27 years.  

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mama hens out there.  If you aren’t surrounded by your chicks, may you be comforted by thoughts and memories of them.

One thought on “mothers and garrison

Leave a Reply

